San Diego USATF


On February 25, 2000, San Diego USATF held its 16th annual awards ceremony. Almost 100 athletes, coaches, officials, and friends joined master of ceremonies Steve Scott in recognizing 1999 performances. The following awards were given: (click on the award for previous winners)

Bill Gookin Award Mebrahtom Keflezighi Association Cross Country Champion, third in Club Nationals
Nazario Romero First San Diego finisher in almost every other road or cross country race
Donna Gookin Award Alisa Rodgers Association Cross Country Champion, third in Club Nationals
Arnie Robinson Award Von Ware Third place TJ at USA Outdoors (16.30m, 53' 3")
Ramona Pagel Award Leslie Coons Fourth place HT at USA Outdoors (63.11m, 207'1")
Junior Athlete Danny Ames CIF Champion DT (199' 9")
Marcus Chandler CIF Champion 1600m (4:10.44), 2nd 3200m (9:02.22)
Kathleen Donoghue CIF Champion PV (state record 12' 8")
Monique Henderson CIF Champion 400m (52.87), World Youth Champ, best of 51.96
Tracy O'Hara NCAA 2nd in PV (4.00m, 13' 1")
Vanessa Rivera Youth Nationals LJ Champion
Masters Athlete Dick Richards M65 World Champion 100m, 200m & LJ (WR)
Joni Shirley W50 National Champion 800m & 1500m
Open Athlete Curt Clausen Bronze medalist in World Championships 50K Walk, first medallist at this level since 1972; 50K American Record 3:48:04; ranked first in U.S., 4th in world
Miesha McKelvy Second place 100mH at USA Outdoors (12.67w)
President's Awards none
Bob Gilmore Award Nelson Alexander Lifetime Achievement: 20+ years coaching youth

Awards Menu

For More Information Visit the Graeme Shirley Track Home Page

Web Page Created by Graeme Shirley  © Copyright Notice

Valid HTML 4.01!